STATE BUILDING COMMISSION MEETING

NEW EDUCATION BUILDING, SUITE 450, RALEIGH, NC

9:30 AM August 27, 2019 <u>MINUTES</u>

MEMBERS PRESENT – Chair Raynor Smith, Vice Chair Sam Isham, Blair Bordeaux, Zena Howard, Thomas Headlee, Ginger Dosier, Roger Woods, Katherine Lynn, Kirby Robinson

OTHERS PRESENT – Secretary of State Elaine Marshall, Latif Kaid, Robert Talley, Victor Stephenson, Farouk Zaman, Ryan Scruggs, Joanne Kurtz (SCO), James Bernier, Jr. (DOJ), Tim Crowley (NC SOS), Tommy Clark (NC SOS), John McLamb (NC SOS), Dorrine Fokes (NCCCS), Jim Rains (NCCCS), David Head (Parks & Rec), Paul Boney(LS3P), Max Casey (NCSHP), Tanya Luter (NCSHP), Joe Thompson (Skanska), John Guenther (NC HUB Office), Betsy Bailey (CAGC)

1. CALL TO ORDER AND ETHICS STATEMENT (Elaine Marshall, Secretary of State)

Secretary of State Elaine Marshall called the meeting to order at 9:33 and read the ethics statement.

2. APPOINTMENTS / REAPPOINTMENTS / SWEARING IN OF COMMISSION MEMBERS

In accordance to Session Law 2019-32 (Senate Bill 381), Secretary of State Elaine Marshall conducted the swearing in for the State Building Commission: Zena Howard, Thomas Headlee, Ginger Dosier, Raynor Smith, Blair Bordeaux, Katherine Lynn, Sam Isham, Kirby Robinson and Roger Woods.

3. ELECTION OF STATE BUILIDNG COMMISSION CHAIR AND VICE CHAIR

- Secretary of State Elaine Marshall opened the floor for nominations for a Chair. Raynor Smith was nominated Chair. Motion by Blair Bordeaux to approve the nomination, Roger Woods seconded the motion.
- Sam Isham was nominated as Vice Chair. Motion by Roger Woods to approve the nomination, Thomas Headlee seconded the motion.

4. APPROVAL OF MINUTES (June 25, 2019)

> Blair Bordeaux made a motion to approve Jun 25, 2019 minutes, Roger Woods seconded the motion.

5. EMERGENCY DECLARATION LETTERS

Latif Kaid, Director of the State Construction office, provided details about the Emergency Declaration letters submitted

- > The University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Morehead Chemistry Building
- > Department of Administration Executive Residence HVAC Chiller Failure

6. SELECTION OF DESIGN FIRM

Department of Natural and Cultural Resources

Parks and Recreation

Mayo River State Park – Master Plan

Rockingham County, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firms were recommended in priority order:

- 1. Timmons Group, Inc (Raleigh, NC)
- 2. McAdams (Durham, NC)
- 3. Alta Engineering SE, PLLC (Durham, NC)

Motion by Sam Isham to approve the Committee's recommendations, Roger Woods seconded the motion.

7. SELECTION OF DESIGN FIRM

Department of Environmental Quality Wildlife Resources Commission Bolivia Depot Brunswick County, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firms were recommended in priority order:

1. MHAworks, P.A. (Greenville, NC)

STATE BUILDING COMMISSION MEETING

New Education Building, Suite 450, Raleigh, NC

- 2. SEPI Engineering & Construction, Inc. (Wilmington, NC)
- 3. Biloba Architecture, PLLC (Charlotte, NC)

Motion by Roger Woods to approve the Committee's recommendations, Blair Bordeaux seconded the motion.

8. SELECTION OF DESIGN FIRM

Department of Public Safety State Highway Patrol Communications Tower Projects for the VIPER Network Statewide, NC

Ryan Scruggs presented the project. The following firms were recommended in priority order:

1. Engineered Tower Solutions, PLLC (Raleigh, NC)

2. Tower Engineering Professionals, Inc. (Raleigh, NC)

Motion by Roger Woods to approve the Committee's recommendations, Blair Bordeaux seconded the motion.

9. SELECTION OF DESIGN-BUILD FIRM (REMOVED FROM AGENDA)

10. OLD BUSINESS

11. NEW BUSINESS

P3 RFQ and Questionnaire

SBC will review and comment on the draft in order to finalize and vote at the next meeting.

12. STATE CONSTRUCTION OFFICE REPORT

Latif provided updates for SCO. There is currently \$1.8 billion in total construction.

13. SCHEDULE NEXT MEETINGS

- September 24, 2019
- October 29, 2019
- December 10, 2019 or December 17, 2019

14. ADJOURNMENT

Roger Woods made a motion to adjourn Blair Bordeaux seconded. Chair Raynor Smith adjourned the meeting at 9:59 am.